This historic Saint Martinville B&B is located near Lafayette and Breaux Bridge, Louisiana.
The Old Castillo Bed and Breakfast
at La Place 'd Evangeline

Saint Martinville (Lafayette area), Louisiana

Romantic B&B on the banks of the lazy bayou Teche beneath the branges of the legendary Evangeline Oak

Saint Martinville, Louisiana (LA) Bed & Breakfast: Beneath the moss-draped branches of the legendary Evangeline Oak, the 1829 Greek Revival structure of the Old Castillo Bed and Breakfast rises from the banks of the historic Bayou Teche. Located in the heart of historic St. Martinville, the home is within easy walking distance of St. Martin Square.  Choose from 5 guestrooms, beautifully decorated in period antiques and reproductions. Come experience the warmth of Acadian culture and cuisine.
Contact the Innkeepers | Introduction | Guest Rooms/Rates | History | Breakfast | Evangeline Oak | Points of Interest | Special Packages | How to Find Us | Rent The Whole House Reviews |
Recent Trip Advisor Reviews Email this Web site to a Friend
Click to see a map  |

	
“Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast”

Review on January 25, 2016 Our stay at the Old Castillo was excellent. It is a beautifully kept home and the breakfast was delightful. Our host was very welcoming and I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this B & B to everyone who is staying in St. Martinville or passing through on a Deep South Road trip like ourselves

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 "Enjoyable"

Review on January 12, 2016 I stayed here for several nights for a business trip. A beautiful property and area. I found the accommodations very comfortable and relaxing. I plan to stay here on my next trip. Good restaurants and a bakery close by. Highly recommended!

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 "Lots of History and Charm"

Review on January 2, 2016 Most of this review will be informational, and should not necessarily be considered negative, although it was for me. This is a very old, historical building, and, as such, cannot and should not necessarily offer all of the amenities of a newer property. I think if we had come in a warmer time of year, my review would have been very different, so think about that as you read it. There was no way to control the climate in your personal room. The thermostat was in the hallway and controlled the heat to all of the guest rooms, so I did not feel comfortable adjusting it, and the room was far too cold for my comfort. Also, there are no televisions in the rooms so if the other guests are watching something that you do not care for, you have to find something else to do. The bedcover was an old quilt which is beautiful but desperately needs to be mended. I did not feel comfortable using it at night, but since the only other option was a thin blanket, we ended up using both. The bath towels, on the other hand, were superior! Large, soft, and absorbent, just the way a bath towel should be. Unfortunately, it was cold and wet so we could not enjoy the beautiful grounds around the property. One more thing: this proprietor does not keep breakfast going all morning. She asks you what time you prefer to have breakfast, so be careful what you tell her. My husband foolishly said 9 am, which is WAY later than we normally have breakfast. The proprietor was very gracious, though, and fixed our breakfast when he made her aware that we were ready for it. It is just a nice courtesy to her to be honest about when you want to eat.

Overall: 3/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 3/5 Location: 5/5 "Wonderful trip"

Review on December 21, 2015 We spent the weekend at the Old Castillo B&B for our 45th Anniversary. We had a wonderful time. Peggy is very gracious and accommodating. We have stayed here before and will certainly return. The breakfasts were outstanding and we went to a new restaurant in town that our hostess suggested. It was great also.

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 "Un endroit a ne pas manquer"

Review on November 24, 2015 Nous avions une belle vue sur Le bayou et sur Le petit parc. Nous avions la chambre Teche tres propre et comfortable. Quelle dejeuner delicieux avec des mets locaux et des sourires. Endroit a demeurer pour visiter centre region riche en culture Armand Mousseau

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 "Louisiana Charmer"

Review on November 13, 2015 Old Castillo hosted my husband and I for Veteran's Day. This B&B is quaint, nestled in the heart of St. Martinville. We arrived in the evening, and had keys and instructions waiting for us. Our room was quite large, with a nice view of the garden. The town is small, and a large Catholic church is in the center of it all. We came on a night where they were holding a special mass, the lit trees and church bells really added something to the experience as we walked around the town square. The bed was super comfy, the shower got really hot, and we really felt at home. I loved the wicker swing on the balcony, it was so romantic to swing and take in the sounds of the bayou country. My one complaint is that the room was awfully cold, and there was no way to change the temperature setting, but the room does have extra blankets. Breakfast was great- my husband's beignets disappeared in about 1.5 seconds and the cafe au lait was so yummy! They also bake their own breads and make fig preserves in house (both were delish). Bottom line: If you are looking for a tranquil setting and small town charm, this is the B&B for you!

Overall: 4/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 4/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 4/5 Location: 5/5 "A Very Pleasant Stay"

Review on October 21, 2015 Stayed for one night on our way to New Orleans...wish we had stayed longer. We had a large and very comfortable old room with a nice view out to the Bayou Teche. The ample home-cooked breakfast was quite good and the atmosphere at breakfast was very friendly. After breakfast, we spent a pleasant (and very moving) morning going through the adjacent Acadian and African American Museums. We really enjoyed our time in Saint Martinville and highly recommend the Old Castillo.

Overall: 5/5 Value: 4/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 4/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “A charming, well located bed and breakfast”

Review on October 8, 2015 My friends and I stopped for two days on the way to New Orleans in St. Martinsville, and were so pleased we stayed at this lovely inn. Peggy Hulin, the proprietor and hostess, could not be more gracious and helpful. When we were going to be late for the restaurant (St. Johns--- excellent by the way), she even went to it to tell them. The breakfasts are delicious and homemade, and a great introduction to Louisiana style. The rooms are all different and very clean and comfortable. It's walking distance to everywhere in this little town. The Old Castillo used to be a school, then a nun's home, and now Peggy owns it. She is a great historian of the area and made our visit so enjoyable. I would definitely recommend her place without reservation.

Overall: 4/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 4/5 Location: 5/5 “Simply Fantastic”

Review on September 2, 2015 We loved this place. Friendly, great food and a wonderful room. We loved the charm and interesting history of the building and the town. The frogs and cicadas sang as we sat on the bayou in the evening. It was beautiful.

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “Vieux mais avec une atmosphere incomparable”

Review on July 27, 2015 Nous étions quasiment seuls dans ce bed & breakfast. L'endroit est impressionnant de par son histoire. Nous avons cru entrer dans une maison hantée. Tout est vieux. Les planchers grincent. L'électricité fait des siennes. La salle de douche est très ancienne. Mais malgré tout cela nous y retournerons. Le petit déjeuner est excellent! La petite ville de Saint Martinville est charmante, mais attention tout y ferme très tôt!

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 4/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “Family Visit”

Review on July 27, 2015 Stayed for 3 nights. Room was excellent. Quiet and comfortable. Food was also excellent. There was good variety in the breakfast serving. Coffee was available as early as we got up and turned the pot on. The place is located in the center of St Martinville with the church and church grounds across the street. A beautiful place to visit an excellent place for a morning walk.... There are also several sites to see in the city and nearby in new Iberia, the atchalafaya basin, etc...

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “Nice and peaceful home”

Review on July 9, 2015 Good breakfast, calm, a nice stop in an old house good bed too romantic along bayou teche, welcoming hostess and friendly cook at breakfast nice village next to the two small museums nothing else to add, good value

Overall: 5/5 Value: 4/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 4/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 "Glad we visited"

Review on June 17, 2015 Our experience with the Old Castillo B & B was enjoyable. The inn is very old and has a level of charm you don't often see. As noted by others, you must call Peggy in order to let you in once you arrive. There is also the responsibility of each guest to lock the door with a key should you exit even for a minute. According to Peggy, people think it is a museum and people just walk in thinking they can take a tour of the building. Parking remained a question for us while on our stay. There appears to not be any designated parking. We utilized the side street fairly adjacent to the inn to park, unload and carry our bags to the room. It was not too far of a pack with our bags, but the humidity and heat made it fairly warm. While at the inn you will find the rooms do not have TV's in them. The breakfast room has one, but if you are like us, we enjoy having something to watch as we settle into the night. We brought a laptop and were able to stream a little entertainment as we called it a night. The history of the Evangeline Oak next to the inn was nice to see. There are other oaks on the property with some great personality as well. We also enjoyed the balcony on the second floor. No elevator in the building that we could find so if you have foot/knee/hip related issues and plan on going to the second floor, plan on taking your time. Peggy recommended a couple of restaurants in the general area. We chose St. John's Restaurant which was about a five minute walk from the inn and on the historic square. There one can find multiple tastes of cajon food and really nice steaks. The price for the food and drink are reasonable and the service and attention to detail at this small restaurant was really good. The room and bathroom in the Chambre De Jardin was small(ish) as was the bathroom, but was cool and clean. I believe I have now slept in the tallest bed I have ever seen. The bed was comfortable but required a steps to get in and out. I am only about 5'5" tall and suspect someone 6' or taller would have to get a running start to get on the bed without the steps. Peggy serves a nice breakfast at the time you wish to have it ready. The breakfast times we were offered were after 8 a.m. We chose 8 because we wanted to eat and get on the road as we only stayed at the inn one night. All in all we felt like it was a good experience but if you are looking to fill your afternoon with events we found the local attractions a little lacking in our opinion. This lacking has nothing to do with the inn, but wanted to offer my perspective and our experience.

Overall: 3/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 4/5 Service: 3/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 3/5 “Lovely Historic B&B”

Review on June 5, 2015 We spent two nights at the Old Castillo whilst exploring Louisiana. We picked St Martinville as our Cajun Country base. The Old Castillo is a former hotel, which then became a Convent school and then went back to being a B&B. The house is very historic, with interesting historical pictures and plans of the house, lots of polished wood. We stayed in the Evangeline room, which overlooks the 'Evangeline Oak' and it was lovely - large bed, good air-con, beautiful furniture and a good bathroom with plentiful hot water. We also had access to the balcony overlooking the street, which had a rocker and chairs. We had a little difficulty in checking-in - we were early for 3pm check-in and wanted to leave our bags as we had arrived from New Orleans. We were able to do so and our bags were taken in. We came back at 3pm. The process is to call the number on the board outside and then you are told where your front-door and room-door keys are. This is absolutely fine, but could have done with being on the advance information we were sent. Breakfast is all home-cooked, although there is only one choice. I especially liked the home-made fig preserves and the pancakes. Excellent coffee as well. Mrs Hulin, the owner, was helpful before our stay in suggesting places we could eat - we were in St Martinville on a Sunday and the Monday that was Memorial day, so I was concerned about finding somewhere. St Martinville, like most small towns is dead on a Sunday - none of the town's restaurants were open on Sunday and we drove to Breaux Bridge to Pont Breaux Cajun Restaurant which turned out to be a dance hall and food joint. We had a great night there. We were able to eat at the Kajun King in St Martinville on Memorial Day which was ok. My only criticism it that the balcony is communal space, which all guests who don't have a door opening onto it can access it through another room. this isn't a problem per say, but we did have an issue with another couple who were on the porch rocker outside our window when we left for dinner and when we came back and were quite noisy. They did however move down the balcony to another seat when I asked them to quieten down as we wanted to go to bed. Overall though, a lovely setting and a nice place to stay.

Overall: 4/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 4/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 4/5 "Charming place to sleep"

Review on June 4, 2015 One to recommended. Very friendly lady of the house. Nice old fashioned rooms. Wooden floor. One can water or soft drink or a glas of Wine for free. Warm welcome. A nice caloryfull breakfast with french inspired ingredients and style. Helpfull hospita to book restaurant in the neighbourhood..

Overall: 4/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 4/5 Service: 4/5 Rooms: 4/5 Location: 5/5 "as close to home as you can get !"

Review on April 13, 2015 We felt like we could stay forever. Flawless. Location and purity of character was perfect. Although i have been in the area for a long time, it opened up new aspects of the culture and region with one short weekend stay.

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 "Great Atmosphere and Historic Charm!"

Review on April 4, 2015 My wife and I recently spent 2 nights. I wish we were able to spend more nights. The room, bed, and breakfast was great. Peggy made us breakfast each morning and the food was local dishes. We went to Louisiana to relax and have a nice quiet place to come back to in the evening. The Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast was the ticket! The building itself is historic and it has a great feel...

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 "Lovely location"

Review on April 4, 2015 This bed and breakfast is in a historic property and we enjoyed that aspect of it. It is along the Bayou Teche and next to the Evangeline Oak park. Both are very nice for lingering along. The bed and breakfast also has a long porch that overlooks the park. We sat on the porch late in the evening and enjoyed the experience. The bedroom we were in (the Bayou Teche Room) was an adequate size but very uncomfortable because the bed creaked mightily every time one of us moved even slightly. The chair in which I sat to put on my shoes also creaked mightily. I admit that both my husband and I are overweight but this is the first time we have had that experience of all of the creaking going on with furniture so I don't attribute it to our weight. The breakfast was fine, but nothing spectacular. We were not given any choice in what we had. We are used to being asked if there is anything we do not/cannot eat but this did not happen at this B&B. Before breakfast was over, our hostess asked if we could settle our bills (there was another couple staying there as well) as she had to take the dog to the vet. When the other gentleman asked if he should put his key in the mail drop, the hostess said, "You can give it to her" with a wave toward the kitchen. Her? Who is Her? Shortly thereafter a woman entered the dining room and began to clear up the dishes. I thought that the hostess's attitude toward her helper was quite rude. While we enjoyed seeing the history in the house, we will not stay here again.

Overall: 3/5 Value: 4/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 3/5 Rooms: 3/5 Location: 5/5 "Historic charm"

Review on March 12, 2015 This is a place for history buffs. First off keep in mind this place is almost 200 years old. My wife and I loved it, creaky floors, and all. Bed was also old and creaky,but a comfortable mattress. Not for someone used to the high life, and probably not good for kids. Only one t.v. in the sitting area. Lots of historical significance, and Betty actually has personal ties to the building. Breakfast was good and filling with lots of locally influenced offerings. Town closed up on Sunday, but has lots of history to see,the rest of the week. Located close to Avery island, Jefferson island, Breaux Bridge, and Iberia PLEASE look these up for lots of history and adventure. Hope to return with family and see some things we couldn't get to this time.

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “Loved it”

Review on March 12, 2015 My classmates and went to school there till we graduated in 1958. Every year for the past 7-8 yrs we have a "sleepover" there. Peggy does fantastic job of meeting our needs. The bldg is old and historic but adds to the character of the hotel. No complaints whatever. Thank you.

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “Comfortable and original”

Review on February 23, 2015 Very original place we enjoyed our stay. We find this bb by internet during our trip in Louisiana very comfortable and peculiar. 4 adults and 2 little babies 1 and 2 years. Our room was very Nice and quote and the homemade breakfast very Good.

Overall: 4/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “Evangeline!”

Review on October 11, 2014 Imagine my delight when I realized that the beautiful oak tree just outside our window is "the tree" from Longfellow's poem Evangeline! Our room was nicely appointed and comfortable. The upstairs veranda, accessible to all, is perfect for a sunset wine. Betty's breakfast was as promised .... wonderful.

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “Cajun Country”

Review on October 10, 2014 I loved staying here. Our extremely large room opened up onto a verandah and it was just beautiful sitting out there. The hotel is steeped in history and Peggy was a great host. The breakfast was wonderful. I am a James Lee Burke fan. I had saved one of his books to read when I was in the area. I was just so thrilled when I discovered the book I have is focussed on St. Martinsville. I sat on the balcony and savoured the atmosphere. A great stay.

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 "Charming and Quiet Stay in a Relaxed Atmosphere"

Review on September 29, 2014 Enjoyed our stay; easy to book, and really nice once you get there. Our more economical room was being painted, so we got upgraded to a bigger room with a king-size bed, which was very nice and we slept like babies. The sheets and pillows are very soft, and the place is very clean. I like the breakfast set-up of choosing your time and sitting at a small table by yourself, and that Peggy keeps regional music on low in the dining room all night. It's next to a nice park on the bayou, and is part of a historic site. The balcony at night is nice, and the location is within walking distance to a restaurant and bakery. We'll definitely be back in the future!

Overall: 4/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 4/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “Belle maison, confort moyen”

Review on September 24, 2014 Le Old Castillo est une très belle demeure. Nous avons notamment pu profiter de la terrasse, qui est très agréable. Par contre, il faut reconnaître que le prix est relativement élevé par rapport aux prestations proposées (notons que c'est l'un des seuls endroits où se loger dans le coin, ceci explique cela...). Les chambres ne sont pas désagréables mais le mobilier est très vieillot, et la salle de bain de notre chambre était très petite et peu fonctionnelle. L'accueil est sympathique, mais le système de téléphone devant l'entrée demande parfois un peu de patience... On ne se sent pas vraiment attendu ! Pour le petit déjeuner, aucun choix n'est proposé. Reconnaissons quand même que la préparation maison et l'attention apportée rendent ce moment bien sympathique. Au final, rien de transcendant mais le souvenir reste agréable.

Overall: 3/5 Value: 3/5 Cleanliness: 4/5 Service: 3/5 Rooms: 3/5 Location: 3/5 “Charming & Traditional”

Review on August 20, 2014 Peggy was such a wonderful host. We were visiting friends in the area and couldn't have picked a more charming B&B with such great history. Our friend's mother actually attended Old Castillo when it was still a school. The floorplan of the school provided in the room made it all even more interesting. Breakfast was superb and the hostess was extremely accommodating. Thank you Peggy for a great stay and thanks for letting the Fuselier family join us for breakfast. We will definitely recommend Old Castillo to others.

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “Comfy stay-great staff!”

Review on August 03, 2014 My husband and I loved our stay in the Chambre de Jardin. The king bed was super comfortable- the rest of the furnishings were surberb. Breakfast was a delight including homemade bread and cafe au lait !

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “Historic inn and Cajun hospitality”

Review on June 26, 2014 The Old Castillo Inn on the Bayou Teche offers a historic ambience, lovely grounds, large rooms, comfortable beds, generous breakfasts, and warm hospitality. The building is timeworn but very clean. The breakfasts feature authentic Cajun specialties such as pain perdu (French toast), beignets, and homemade preserves but the hostess ought to offer alternative options, too, such as fresh fruit and yogurt. Some of the plastic flowers should be replaced by fresh flowers from the beautiful gardens outside.

Overall: 4/5 Value: 3/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “A Night in St Martinville”

Review on April 28, 2014 What a charming and historic b&b. We were warmly welcomed and enjoyed the conviviality of fellow guests at the inn. The recommendation for the St. John Restaurant was spot on and the location by the Evangeline Tree was special. We appreciated the introduction each morning to regional cuisine of Cajun Country. All in all it was a lovely and restful spot.

Overall: 4/5 Value: 4/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 4/5 Rooms: 4/5 Location: 5/5 “The old Castillo bed and breakfast”

Review on April 03, 2014 Easy to book. Had a variety of rooms to pick from. The room we had had a very nice balcony with a view of the bayou. Our room was large and beautiful with original antiques and a very comfortable bed. The staff was awesome and accommodating. The breakfast we got with the room was a large Cajun breakfast served on our balcony. The town of st.Martinville is quaint with lots of shops and eateries. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “Perfect stay"

Review on May 24, 2014 House was so unique, clean, and lovely. Stayed in Gabrielle room with doors to balcony. Sheets and pillows were so soft and the blinds kept out any light. House was so quiet we didn't realize there were others there until breakfast. Food was delicious. Would highly recommend.

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “Lovely Stop on the Bayou Teche”

Review on May 7, 2014 My husband and I decided to explore Louisiana on our way to this year's New Orleans Jazz Fest. It was a wonderful road trip bumping around the country side. One of the things on our list of "things to do" was a swamp tour outside of Breaux Bridge so we needed a place to stay close by but still on our way to New Orleans (preferably off the main highway which we were avoiding).We selected this B&B solely based this criteria. It turned out to be a very special evening. This was a Monday night and we found that most places are closed both Sunday and Monday (We didn't know this and it greatly impacted our travels) so we were planning to drive back to Breaux Bridge to a dinner spot we heard about that is open every day. However the B&B owner recommended the one little dinner spot in town that is open on Mondays and has great boiled crayfish. It was a wonderful small town experience followed by a lovely nights rest. The breakfast in the morning is not your standard fare for a B&B. It's a full home cooked meal and was delicious. We loved this spot. The one thing that was a little confusing was checking in because the front door is kept locked to prevent tourists from entering (apparently people assume it's a museum). You have to call to gain entry. This was fine once we understood the issue. Lovely place, wonderful hospitality.

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “A great start to a holiday”

Review on April 19, 2014 The house was in a lovely setting, very clean and full of history. Our room was very comfortable. We had full use of the balcony upstairs which was a great way to watch the world go by The breakfast was served personally by the owner and set us up for the day.

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “Best little B&B in Louisiana”

Review on March 3, 2014 I read the bad reviews on this place after I had stayed here a few times, which reminded me of the axiom –– that you can't please everyone. Nonetheless, if you looking for a good night's sleep, a little culture, and some piece and quiet –– you're in for a treat. In my humble opinion, I think that this place has more charm in it's pinky toe, than the Ritz Carlton or any other five star hotel you can muster up. If you want all those amenities, this may not be the place for you, but if you want to experience a charming little B&B stay a night or two at The Old Castillo in St. Martinville.

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 4/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 4/5 Location: 5/5 “Lovely Setting”

Review on February 16, 2014 This is in a fantastic setting just by the Evangeline Oak, we could see it from our room! We were extremely fortunate to arrive Valentine's Evening and when we booked Peggy, the owner, invited us to join in the annual Valentine Social which celebrates all those who became engaged or married under the Oak. It was a very lovely experience and we have to thank her and the people of St Martinville for making us so very welcome. The house itself is very old and as other people have said is not full of mod cons, that is the attraction! It is however very clean and very beautiful and as the owner of a fairly old house I'm glad I don't have to up keep of this one. It was one of the original River Boat Hotels and then for many years a school, we met various ex pupils, the whole experience was wonderful and we throughly recommend St Martinville and the Old Castillo, but not if your preferred and only acceptable option is a chain hotel.

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “A gem with a thoughtful and enterprising owner”

Review on November 26, 2013 Old Castillo is rich with history, southern Old World elegance and charm. Our room was spacious and lovely with beautiful antiques. It is an old building, of course, but our accommodations were comfortable and cozy. The history of St Martinville is beautifully incorporated in this quiet abode. Peggy, our hostess and owner, was gracious and down to earth, and completely focused on making our experience as perfect as possible. She gave us a great recommendation for dinner, St John, where we enjoyed wonderful Cajun food and delightful service. But one of the real treats was the home cooked and exceptionally ample and delicious breakfast the next morning. She has a lot of her scrumptious goodies for sale as well. We had a nice chat with Peggy about our respective families as we were checking out and left feeling we had made a new friend. The only suggestion I might make for improvement would be a faster way of contacting her if one needs to make any changes in their schedule, although I think she would not have minded being bothered with a phone call and we thought it too early to disturb her! I think she does a splendid job and we have already recommended her to friends. Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “Not corporate” Review on October 1, 2013 Old Castillo Bed and Breakfast is not corporate at all. No TV, no elevator, no hairdryer. The balcony overlooking Bayou Teche and the Evangeline Oak and the excellent home-cooked breakfast make it an excellent getaway. There are fun and delicious Cajun restaurants up in Breaux Bridge which is an easy evening's drive. St. Martinville has lots of history. Peggy, the owner, is a gracious hostess. Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “Walk back in time ... you will love it!” Review on August 29, 2013 Off the beaten path, but worth the drive. The Old Castillo Hotel, built in 1827, offers the charm and decor of yesterday. Miss Peggy is a wonderful host, and serves a breakfast fit for a king. Reasonable pricing offers the traveler better value than staying in a cookie-cutter hotel, and the opportunity to taste a bit of history. Saint Martinville, a quaint town with lots of Acadian history, is located between New Iberia and Lafayette, LA. Remember, it's an old building, so expect a few squeaks here and there. Hope this helpful. Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “Authentic local charm” Review on August 5, 2013 Lovingly maintained and genuinely a part of Bayou Teche country. Huge props to Miss Peggy and her family for continuing a strong tradition of hospitality and culture. If you're sick and tired of the same old cookie cutter franchised look that is difficult to escape in America AND abroad, choose Old Castillo and a stay in St. Martin. Breakfast IS generous and tasty with tastes you won't find just anywhere (home-made preserves oh-my!). The bayou is heavy with sounds of night life peeps and croaks, lushly green in the daylight. The church and museums nearby are a delightful way to spend 1-2 hours (not too heavy, not too light) learning about the area's history. The location is nicely situated very close to good music, Lafayette, plantations, rice and cane sugar industry and swamp tours! Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “Last minute stop - best ever” We were sitting overlooking the beach in Seaside, Florida facing a long drive back to Houston the next day. We decided to break up the trip by finding a B&B near Lafayette and did a search. The Old Castillo popped up, looked interesting and had one room available. I pushed the buttons and we were booked. We arrived late but Miss Peggy walked us through check-in on the phone and within minutes we were inside a historic and interesting building. The other guests had started an impromptu happy on the second floor balcony overlooking the square and we joined in for a relaxing drink. After talking with Peggy on local restaurants, we walked to St. John the Restaurant and had a great meal. Our server was a lovely and interesting person named Charlotte. It happens that the B&B used to be a Catholic girls school, and Charlotte graduated there. The next morning we had a lovely and homemade breakfast, and found graduation photos of past classes. We found Charlotte's class and her photo! The point is that this is a real, living place with history dating back to the Civil War and still happening today. Yes, it creaks (the bed, the floor boards, everything), but it is real and we hope to go back soon. Overall: 5/5 Value: 4/5 Cleanliness: 4/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 4/5 Location: 5/5 “There's a famous 'Ent' in the garden” Review on April 28, 2013 An old house with all the allure of an old house and all the issues of maintenance in this climate. We loved it, big room on to the veranda, matched by a copious and ballast providing breakfast, all served by our charming hostess. Its beautifully located, and if you go there there, eat at St Johns a restaurant on the other side of the square. I would recommend it, and would go again but it's an old house, not for those who crave antiseptic modernity, but the wi-fi worked well and its very clean and comfortable and besides these old houses need our support. Overall: 5/5 Value: 4/5 Cleanliness: 4/5 Service: 4/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “A great weekend escape” Review on April 3, 2013 The Old Castillo Hotel is not for everyone – it is an aging building with most amenities having been added only in recent years. It is quirky, squeaky, and musty but evokes such a strong sense of history that you are easily transported back to a time when there was no need for TVs, electronic devices, or other modern clutter (though all are available to use/be used here as confirmed by my children who were practically umbilical-ly connected to the hotel's wifi throughout the weekend). The rooms are spacious and well furnished with incomparable views onto the grounds and Bayou Teche (particularly from the Longfellow Room where we stayed for two nights on a Saturday/Sunday). The hotel sits adjacent to a picturesque square which is home to the Evangeline Oak. The owner, Peggy, makes a special effort to make you feel at home and is always available for anything you need even if she is not physically present. Upon our arrival, she told us about the downstairs fridge where we could enjoy a much needed glass of wine after a long drive from Texas. She was especially accommodating to our 7-yr old whose morning breakfast request of his favourite cereal differed from her own handmade fig jam and freshly baked bread. She had fresh coffee and café au lait available early in the morning so that we were able to pop down and pick up a cup of each before formally coming down for breakfast. The story of the house, its past incarnation as a school and the work that Peggy has done to restore it and then restore it again after Hurricane Ike are inspirational. Having lived in a Victorian house in London (UK) for many years, I can appreciate the work involved in maintaining a property like this and Peggy has transformed it into an incredible experience. Don’t come if you are looking for a modern, all inclusive luxury hotel, but do come for the history, the atmosphere, and a great weekend escape. Overall: 5/5 Value: 4/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 “SECOND TO NONE!” Review on February 4, 2013 Me and my wife enjoyed it very much. We stayed two night in the LONGFELLOW ROOM, very nice and quiet. The breakfast was very good, and Mrs. Peggy made us feel like part of the family. All the resturants are really good (ESPECIALLY ST. JOHN'S STEAK/SEAFOOD) and in walking distance (a block). Going back soon! mr. and mrs. f. coleman Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5

back to first page
back to
first page
Click-on these pages for more information:

 | Introduction | Guest Rooms/Rates | History | Breakfast | Evangeline Oak | Points of Interest | Special Packages | How to Find Us | Rent The Whole House Reviews |

back to top of this page
back to top
of this page

The Old Castillo Bed and Breakfast
at La Place 'd Evangeline
220 Evangeline Boulevard
Saint Martinville, Louisiana   70582
(337) 394-4010
email:
If you have trouble with the email link, please type the email address into the mail client of your choice (Gmail, Yahoo, Hotmail, Outlook, etc.). Thank you!
Peggy and Clayt Hulin, Innkeepers

You were visitor number to
www.oldcastillo.com
since July 2, 2004

Web site design, maintenance, hosting and promotion by Bed & Breakfast Inns ONLINE.