This historic Saint Martinville B&B is located near Lafayette and Breaux Bridge, Louisiana.
The Old Castillo Bed and Breakfast
at La Place 'd Evangeline

Saint Martinville (Lafayette area), Louisiana

Romantic B&B on the banks of the lazy bayou Teche beneath the branges of the legendary Evangeline Oak

Saint Martinville, Louisiana (LA) Bed & Breakfast: Beneath the moss-draped branches of the legendary Evangeline Oak, the 1829 Greek Revival structure of the Old Castillo Bed and Breakfast rises from the banks of the historic Bayou Teche. Located in the heart of historic St. Martinville, the home is within easy walking distance of St. Martin Square.  Choose from 5 guestrooms, beautifully decorated in period antiques and reproductions. Come experience the warmth of Acadian culture and cuisine.
Contact the Innkeepers | Introduction | Guest Rooms/Rates | History | Breakfast | Evangeline Oak | Points of Interest | Special Packages | How to Find Us | Rent The Whole House Reviews |
Recent Trip Advisor Reviews Email this Web site to a Friend
Click to see a map  |

"Perfect stay"

Review on May 24, 2014 House was so unique, clean, and lovely. Stayed in Gabrielle room with doors to balcony. Sheets and pillows were so soft and the blinds kept out any light. House was so quiet we didn't realize there were others there until breakfast. Food was delicious. Would highly recommend.

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 "Lovely Stop on the Bayou Teche"

Review on May 7, 2014 My husband and I decided to explore Louisiana on our way to this year's New Orleans Jazz Fest. It was a wonderful road trip bumping around the country side. One of the things on our list of "things to do" was a swamp tour outside of Breaux Bridge so we needed a place to stay close by but still on our way to New Orleans (preferably off the main highway which we were avoiding).We selected this B&B solely based this criteria. It turned out to be a very special evening. This was a Monday night and we found that most places are closed both Sunday and Monday (We didn't know this and it greatly impacted our travels) so we were planning to drive back to Breaux Bridge to a dinner spot we heard about that is open every day. However the B&B owner recommended the one little dinner spot in town that is open on Mondays and has great boiled crayfish. It was a wonderful small town experience followed by a lovely nights rest. The breakfast in the morning is not your standard fare for a B&B. It's a full home cooked meal and was delicious. We loved this spot. The one thing that was a little confusing was checking in because the front door is kept locked to prevent tourists from entering (apparently people assume it's a museum). You have to call to gain entry. This was fine once we understood the issue. Lovely place, wonderful hospitality.

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 "A great start to a holiday"

Review on April 19, 2014 The house was in a lovely setting, very clean and full of history. Our room was very comfortable. We had full use of the balcony upstairs which was a great way to watch the world go by The breakfast was served personally by the owner and set us up for the day.

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 "Best little B&B in Louisiana"

Review on March 3, 2014 I read the bad reviews on this place after I had stayed here a few times, which reminded me of the axiom –– that you can't please everyone. Nonetheless, if you looking for a good night's sleep, a little culture, and some piece and quiet –– you're in for a treat. In my humble opinion, I think that this place has more charm in it's pinky toe, than the Ritz Carlton or any other five star hotel you can muster up. If you want all those amenities, this may not be the place for you, but if you want to experience a charming little B&B stay a night or two at The Old Castillo in St. Martinville.

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 4/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 4/5 Location: 5/5 "Lovely Setting"

Review on February 16, 2014 This is in a fantastic setting just by the Evangeline Oak, we could see it from our room! We were extremely fortunate to arrive Valentine's Evening and when we booked Peggy, the owner, invited us to join in the annual Valentine Social which celebrates all those who became engaged or married under the Oak. It was a very lovely experience and we have to thank her and the people of St Martinville for making us so very welcome. The house itself is very old and as other people have said is not full of mod cons, that is the attraction! It is however very clean and very beautiful and as the owner of a fairly old house I'm glad I don't have to up keep of this one. It was one of the original River Boat Hotels and then for many years a school, we met various ex pupils, the whole experience was wonderful and we throughly recommend St Martinville and the Old Castillo, but not if your preferred and only acceptable option is a chain hotel.

Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 "A gem with a thoughtful and enterprising owner"

Review on November 26, 2013 Old Castillo is rich with history, southern Old World elegance and charm. Our room was spacious and lovely with beautiful antiques. It is an old building, of course, but our accommodations were comfortable and cozy. The history of St Martinville is beautifully incorporated in this quiet abode. Peggy, our hostess and owner, was gracious and down to earth, and completely focused on making our experience as perfect as possible. She gave us a great recommendation for dinner, St John, where we enjoyed wonderful Cajun food and delightful service. But one of the real treats was the home cooked and exceptionally ample and delicious breakfast the next morning. She has a lot of her scrumptious goodies for sale as well. We had a nice chat with Peggy about our respective families as we were checking out and left feeling we had made a new friend. The only suggestion I might make for improvement would be a faster way of contacting her if one needs to make any changes in their schedule, although I think she would not have minded being bothered with a phone call and we thought it too early to disturb her! I think she does a splendid job and we have already recommended her to friends. Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 "Not corporate" Review on October 1, 2013 Old Castillo Bed and Breakfast is not corporate at all. No TV, no elevator, no hairdryer. The balcony overlooking Bayou Teche and the Evangeline Oak and the excellent home-cooked breakfast make it an excellent getaway. There are fun and delicious Cajun restaurants up in Breaux Bridge which is an easy evening's drive. St. Martinville has lots of history. Peggy, the owner, is a gracious hostess. Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 "Walk back in time ... you will love it!" Review on August 29, 2013 Off the beaten path, but worth the drive. The Old Castillo Hotel, built in 1827, offers the charm and decor of yesterday. Miss Peggy is a wonderful host, and serves a breakfast fit for a king. Reasonable pricing offers the traveler better value than staying in a cookie-cutter hotel, and the opportunity to taste a bit of history. Saint Martinville, a quaint town with lots of Acadian history, is located between New Iberia and Lafayette, LA. Remember, it's an old building, so expect a few squeaks here and there. Hope this helpful. Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 "Authentic local charm" Review on August 5, 2013 Lovingly maintained and genuinely a part of Bayou Teche country. Huge props to Miss Peggy and her family for continuing a strong tradition of hospitality and culture. If you're sick and tired of the same old cookie cutter franchised look that is difficult to escape in America AND abroad, choose Old Castillo and a stay in St. Martin. Breakfast IS generous and tasty with tastes you won't find just anywhere (home-made preserves oh-my!). The bayou is heavy with sounds of night life peeps and croaks, lushly green in the daylight. The church and museums nearby are a delightful way to spend 1-2 hours (not too heavy, not too light) learning about the area's history. The location is nicely situated very close to good music, Lafayette, plantations, rice and cane sugar industry and swamp tours! Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 "Last minute stop - best ever" We were sitting overlooking the beach in Seaside, Florida facing a long drive back to Houston the next day. We decided to break up the trip by finding a B&B near Lafayette and did a search. The Old Castillo popped up, looked interesting and had one room available. I pushed the buttons and we were booked. We arrived late but Miss Peggy walked us through check-in on the phone and within minutes we were inside a historic and interesting building. The other guests had started an impromptu happy on the second floor balcony overlooking the square and we joined in for a relaxing drink. After talking with Peggy on local restaurants, we walked to St. John the Restaurant and had a great meal. Our server was a lovely and interesting person named Charlotte. It happens that the B&B used to be a Catholic girls school, and Charlotte graduated there. The next morning we had a lovely and homemade breakfast, and found graduation photos of past classes. We found Charlotte's class and her photo! The point is that this is a real, living place with history dating back to the Civil War and still happening today. Yes, it creaks (the bed, the floor boards, everything), but it is real and we hope to go back soon. Overall: 5/5 Value: 4/5 Cleanliness: 4/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 4/5 Location: 5/5 "There's a famous 'Ent' in the garden" Review on April 28, 2013 An old house with all the allure of an old house and all the issues of maintenance in this climate. We loved it, big room on to the veranda, matched by a copious and ballast providing breakfast, all served by our charming hostess. Its beautifully located, and if you go there there, eat at St Johns a restaurant on the other side of the square. I would recommend it, and would go again but it's an old house, not for those who crave antiseptic modernity, but the wi-fi worked well and its very clean and comfortable and besides these old houses need our support. Overall: 5/5 Value: 4/5 Cleanliness: 4/5 Service: 4/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 "A great weekend escape" Review on April 3, 2013 The Old Castillo Hotel is not for everyone – it is an aging building with most amenities having been added only in recent years. It is quirky, squeaky, and musty but evokes such a strong sense of history that you are easily transported back to a time when there was no need for TVs, electronic devices, or other modern clutter (though all are available to use/be used here as confirmed by my children who were practically umbilical-ly connected to the hotel's wifi throughout the weekend). The rooms are spacious and well furnished with incomparable views onto the grounds and Bayou Teche (particularly from the Longfellow Room where we stayed for two nights on a Saturday/Sunday). The hotel sits adjacent to a picturesque square which is home to the Evangeline Oak. The owner, Peggy, makes a special effort to make you feel at home and is always available for anything you need even if she is not physically present. Upon our arrival, she told us about the downstairs fridge where we could enjoy a much needed glass of wine after a long drive from Texas. She was especially accommodating to our 7-yr old whose morning breakfast request of his favourite cereal differed from her own handmade fig jam and freshly baked bread. She had fresh coffee and café au lait available early in the morning so that we were able to pop down and pick up a cup of each before formally coming down for breakfast. The story of the house, its past incarnation as a school and the work that Peggy has done to restore it and then restore it again after Hurricane Ike are inspirational. Having lived in a Victorian house in London (UK) for many years, I can appreciate the work involved in maintaining a property like this and Peggy has transformed it into an incredible experience. Don’t come if you are looking for a modern, all inclusive luxury hotel, but do come for the history, the atmosphere, and a great weekend escape. Overall: 5/5 Value: 4/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5 "SECOND TO NONE!" Review on February 4, 2013 Me and my wife enjoyed it very much. We stayed two night in the LONGFELLOW ROOM, very nice and quiet. The breakfast was very good, and Mrs. Peggy made us feel like part of the family. All the resturants are really good (ESPECIALLY ST. JOHN'S STEAK/SEAFOOD) and in walking distance (a block). Going back soon! mr. and mrs. f. coleman Overall: 5/5 Value: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Rooms: 5/5 Location: 5/5

back to first page
back to
first page
Click-on these pages for more information:

 | Introduction | Guest Rooms/Rates | History | Breakfast | Evangeline Oak | Points of Interest | Special Packages | How to Find Us | Rent The Whole House Reviews |

back to top of this page
back to top
of this page

The Old Castillo Bed and Breakfast
at La Place 'd Evangeline
220 Evangeline Boulevard
Saint Martinville, Louisiana   70582
(337) 394-4010
email:
If you have trouble with the email link, please type the email address into the mail client of your choice (Gmail, Yahoo, Hotmail, Outlook, etc.). Thank you!
Peggy and Clayt Hulin, Innkeepers

You were visitor number to
www.oldcastillo.com
since July 2, 2004

Web site design, maintenance, hosting and promotion by Bed & Breakfast Inns ONLINE.